Meet Dujon!

My name is Dujon Christopher Smith. I come from the wonderful city of Evanston in Illinois. I graduated from ETHS this past spring and currently I attend Pepperdine University as a pre-International Business major student. I cannot believe that I have had five weeks of class already; or the fact that I have been calling Malibu my home for the past six weeks.  When I moved into my new ocean view campus on a hill I was in awe. How could one live here and not be distracted by all of the beauty. The weather is almost always in the constant 70s with the sun in the sky. The first week was new student orientation, a time to get to know the other students, faculty, and administrators.  That week was full of exciting all day events that were tiring but at the same time entertaining. I had an amazing time and I was glad to have this week to get more familiar with the campus. Currently I am taking Macroeconomics, English, Western Humanities, Intercultural Leadership, and Chinese. They all are wonderful classes with some remarkable professors.  I am one that loves to get involved right away. So continuing on with my passion for music, I have joined the Pepperdine Concert Choir and Genesis Gospel Choir. Along with those commitments I have joined the Sports Business Association and Black Student Association. I have just finished rush week for fraternities and I am now member of Sigma Phi Epsilon (ΣΦΕ). So for the remainder of the semester I will be going through the Balanced Man Program which is their unique pledging system. I also got the wonderful opportunity to work for the Pepperdine School of Law working as an administrative assistant, with mirrored shifts with my dear coworker and friend Paige, to the Director of Information Services. I even try and do daily morning runs around the track several times with a great friend/personal trainer Ashley, who is in my neighboring dorm. Thanks a young man named Daniel I go to this great church, Reality LA, in Hollywood; which is a fun trip Sunday mornings. It’s pretty hard to do anything here in California if you don’t have a car. Being here at this school has been a true blessing. God has just being opening many doors of opportunities and been meeting all my needs.

My roommate Peter is the best. He seriously acts like a mother sometimes which I find hilarious. He always reminds me to take my key, or put a coat because it may be cold outside. I am glad that I got such a great roommate. One guy in my suite named Craig has a wonderful collection of teas from all over which is my absolute favorite hot beverage. In my suite, I also have my spiritual life advisor who is a great guy always praying for us and trying to help us strengthen our faith. The other kids are members of volleyball team here at Pepperdine and they are pretty cool guys. Pepperdine is a great school with some many people to meet from very diverse backgrounds. The diversity that I have seen here has made it such a comfortable transition from home. I have found that being here in this supportive environment all helping us to build character, strengthen our faith, and gain wisdom through understanding is a great place for me to grow as an individual. So far I love Pepperdine and being a “Wave.” Free time spent at Zuma beach, shopping in Santa Monica, touring around in Hollywood, living it up in LA is the way I can spend my time when my studies are finished.  Overall I am having a great time focusing on studies but still making time to have awesome college adventures.

2 Comments to “Meet Dujon!”

  1. God is grate my son. Please stay focus ,i love you very much ,remember in everything give thanks. help someone along the way. Continue to pay your tithes & offering unto to God. I am very proud of you.< Finaly pick a mountain to climb dare to think big & remember with Faith you can accomplish anything in life. The Holy Spirit is your Comforter Amen. Love your Mom Cheryl

  2. You have made ETHS proud Dujon. You are an amazing young man full of life, love and dreams. You will go far no doubt. Please come back to ETHS and share all your adventures with us one day. I’m still in the College Career Center. Congrats and all the best to you at Pepperdine.

Leave a comment